About us

Tasmanian Renewable Energy Alliance Inc. is a Tasmanian Incorporated Association, Incorporation number IA11424. ABN: 23 422 656 832

Shut down of TREA

TREA closed down effective from 1 July 2023.  The committee decided it was not viable to continue TREA in its current form. Membership income is too low and administrative overheads are too high to support even a part-time active employee.  This was prompted by the decision of the Executive Officer to retire. The close down decision was confirmed at a Special General Meeting of members on 27 June 2023.

We are working with the national Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA) to take over some of the work of monitoring and reporting on Tasmanian developments.

Solar PV continues to be an excellent investment for businesses and households in Tasmania and installations are continuing to grow. To find a quality Tasmanian installer, please visit the list of members (at the time TREA closed down).

A big thankyou to all the members, former members, sponsors and members of the public who supported TREA over the last ten years.

Committee members

Following the AGM on 14 February 2023, the office bearers of the Alliance are:

  • President: Anthony Holbrook (Rexel Electrical Supplies) (0427) 366-698
  • Secretary: Tony Polowy (Polcom) (0418) 138-684
  • Treasurer: Tye Clarke (Harvest Energy)
  • Public Officer and Executive Officer: Jack Gilding (0407) 486-651
  • ordinary committee members:
    • Rick Gittus (Affordable Solar Tasmania)
    • Moreeta Pennicott (Tasmanian Energy Company)
    • George Auchterlonie (Renewable Energy Solutions Tasmania)

Additional positions for committee members are vacant. We are particularly keen to have representation from members in the north of the state.

 Formal objectives

  1. Promote the development and use of renewable energy for households, businesses and farms in Tasmania.
  2. Provide the public with advice and information to assist them to choose and obtain high quality renewable energy systems from reputable local suppliers.
  3. Work with government regulatory agencies to ensure that industry regulation meets the requirement of public safety and consumer protection without imposing undue burdens and costs on the industry.
  4. Work with government, regulatory agencies and the public to address instances of substandard installation or poor consumer service in the industry.
  5. Organise continuous professional development (CPD) for industry practitioners including supporting the Clean Energy Council CPD for solar designers and installers.
  6. Provide services to members that assist them in conducting their business in an efficient and cost effective manner.
  7. Lobby governments to support policies that support renewable energy, create employment and reduce energy costs for consumers.

You can also download our Rules (version 6 incorporating amendments, 12 Oct 2016).

TREA committee

TREA Committee members 30 April 2014, rear (L to R) Trevor Seeney, Shaun Inglis, Andrew Farr. front: Rob Manson, Jason Gulliver, Rick Gittus.

Planning meeting 24 September 2013. left to right: Peter Durovic, Jack Gilding, Rob Manson, Ben Steven, Nick Walker, Rick Gittus, Rohan Windsor, Peter Collins.

Planning meeting 24 September 2013. left to right: Peter Durovic, Jack Gilding, Rob Manson, Ben Steven, Nick Walker, Rick Gittus, Rohan Windsor, Peter Collins.